MENG Yan

The “UrbanVillage” section, subtitled: “Hybridity and Coexistence”, is the main themedexhibition of this Biennale. The narrative line focuses on urban villages, representing a unique urban reality in Shenzhen and the Pearl River Delta region.The exhibition responds and interprets the theme of “Cities, Grow in Difference” from multiple perspectives, including historical research, in-depthobservation, on-site intervention, and future imagination.

Urban Village: Arrival Community and Future of the City

The urban village is aproduct of the conflict between and integration of the rapid urbanization caused bythe market economy and the urban-ruraldual system during the planned economy period in China. It has become a typical urban issue in Pearl River Deltacities, most notably in Guangzhou and Shenzhen. In Shenzhen, the original rural land under collective ownership was expropriated and converted to state-owned property; Villagers become urban residents through two urbanization initiatives in 1992 and 2004 respectively. Villagers lost their farmland but still retained their rural residential plot, and when they saw the large influx of immigrant workers and the subsequent surging demand for rental housing in the high-speed urban expansion, they started to expand their private residential buildings for rent. Hence arose the characteristic phenomena of the urban village -an urban enclave encircled by the city, which presents a sharp contrast between themodernizedcity outside andthe underdeveloped village inside. While some people thinkof theurban village as dirty, messy, shabby, crowded, ugly and unsafe, others can see how it mixes traditional clan culture and friendly community of original residents with mobility, multi-regional cultures and inspiration for modernization from their tenants. By hybridizing and integrating in spontaneous ways, the urban village forges these influences into a dynamic, diversified and inclusive social ecosystem, which now serves as an arrival community for the exploding population of new immigrants to the city.

In different historical periods,the shifting nature of the urban/rural dual structure has shaped the spatial model of China’s cities, no longer where rural areasen circled the city, butnow urban districts sprawling to enclose villages and, then to urban-rural integration and the urbanization of rural areas. It is no doubt that urbanization has changed rural areas fundamentally, shifting fromusingland asdirect means of production to spatial production. Land afterward becomes the means of production of China’s rapid urbanization and through this process, traditional villages are transformed into industrial villages, Taobao (e-commerce) villages, urban villages and many other unique types of urban models. All previous sessions of UABB have included works about urban villages, which have conducted continuous and in-depth researches on the current life, cultural and spatial complexity, diversity and the renovation strategies of the urban villages in Shenzhen and the PRD region.

The urban village isan alternative exampleofurbanization in China and its value as our contemporary heritage should befullyrecognized. Facing the pressure of extensive demolition and redevelopment, it is now a critical moment to carry out thorough research and evaluation of the urban village. The spatial and social structures of urban villages are characterized by their inclusiveness and diversity. Compared with many generic cities, streamlined by rapid urbanization and globalization, the living spaces in urban villages are extraordinarily dynamic, showing the indigenouscharm of humanityin creating their own homes. The urban village, as an alternative presence incontemporary city, is independent from yet integrated with its surrounding urban districts. It combines both unimaginable density and urban dynamics.It is anurban frontierthat still stimulates the imagination in the mist of today’s excessively regulated and rigidcity.

As we focus on the importance of the urban village in conveying the history of the city and the role of supporting urban functions, we care even more about its future. With the development of the city and its soaring land prices, most urban villages are in dangerof being demolished and replaced by high density redevelopment. Currently, the urban village is a placefor young migrantsto live,people who are the fresh new energy increating the future of our city. Ina time of anew social environment, with the rise of booming new economic modelsand innovative entrepreneur ship, arethere new chances or possibilitiesfor urban villages in the future? Is it possible to achieve a new balance between spatial regeneration and social reconstruction? There might be chances to discover innovative ways of using and operating urban villages, and also to develop new economic models based onthe highly versatile, adaptable, diverseand densespatial resources of the urban village. They canalso provide a new experimental groundor incubatorfor young start-up entrepreneurs. The future of the urban village is a reflection of the future of our city and we believe it is time for achange in our conception.

Urban Village: An Exhibition ofHeterogeneity and Coexistence
The UrbanVillage section contains a series of themed exhibitions, research presentations, on-site exhibitions scattered throughout the old town, and miniature shows embedded within the main themed exhibition.It establishes the overlapping and coexistence of multiple exhibitions. The structure of the exhibition is as complex as the city itself and the narrative isdense, polyphonic and multi-faceted. It follows amain structure, but sometimes grows divergent. It is carefully crafted and yet adaptable to the uncertainties of the venue. As a whole chapter that fully presents the observation, research, case study, and on-siteintervention, this section has three sub-sections: Urban Village Archive, Urban Village Armory,and Urban Village Lab, respectively focusing on the knowledge base, renovation tools and methods,and spatial practices of the urban village. Meanwhile, the Urban Village Club, as special events session,is planned to encourage the participation of local residents.Through the duration of the exhibition these public eventswill be implantedinto the daily life of the urban village community.

Urban Village Archive is a long-term research project which was launched long before the exhibition. Through commissioned research programs, cooperation plans, and open calls, the curators hope to put together a comprehensive collectionof the massive numbers of studies conducted about urban villages in the past decades in China and abroad. The Archive is a huge database of the history and reality of urban villages. It is also a collective exhibition presented by participants from different perspectives through diverse media.It brings together individual experiences, observation models, and big data mining, and it juxtaposes the systematic analysis, academic researches, and variouspersonal interpretations. The Archive is also an active spacefor knowledge production, where the audience can interact with local residents during the exhibition.We hope toleave behind a valuable urban archive and research database for future urban village studies after the Biennale.

The Urban Village Armoryis a metaphor ofthe once existing armory in Nantouas military base recorded in historical literature. As a collection of tools, it gathers research and case studies on urban village renovation practices globally. As an observation station, it closely follows andbroadcasts the local team’s insiderperspectivesand research in urban villages. The Urban Village Lab, on the other hand, is the ongoing practiceof urban intervention. It includes various projects,likethe Nantouurban regenerationplan as well as outdoor installations and murals commissioned by the curators.It also includes UABB’s open-callinitiatives to improveseveral outdoor spaces and storefronts in the old town, and to renovate some residential buildings. The top-down strategic planning and designprocess is complimented by self-initiatedand spontaneous micro-interventions. The Urban Village Club is planned in the hope to stay close to local life and pay back the local community of Nantou with a series of public activities. Additionally, launched by the curators was a series of CGDLab (Cities: Grow in Difference Lab) activities that were held within six months before the exhibition. These will be extended through the durationof the exhibition. The NantouForum, set up in the center of the old town, is an attempt to further blend the exhibition and reality.Itprovides a public platform to allow decision makers, experts, and local residents to work together for preservation and regeneration of the old town.

The Urban Village Theme Pavilion, located in the center of the factory offers a series of closed rooms scattered on the ground floor, including a story den, game room, photo studio, drawing room, video room, music room, laboratory, future gallery, and so on. The contents of these rooms are from the studies and observations of urban villages, the names from the daily lives of the early urban history of the Shenzhen SEZ.,are assembled in a novel and attractive way. The miniature streets and blocks arefull of color and texture, and people will encountersmall exhibits when they stroll around, as casually as if they were onthe street. They are deliberately designed as a maze and chaos, echoes and reverberations. The curator tailored a unique spatial terrain for the themed exhibition, setting restrictions while encouraging improvisation and growth over time. Thus the exhibition becomes an endless experiment of adding and modifying, and avisitor’s experience is no longer watching, but full of discovery, serendipity and participation.

The Urban Village section is an ongoing exhibition. We initiated a series of open calls for exhibits and collaboration, including Urban Village Picture Book, Urban Village Photo and Video Room, Urban Village Databank, Urban Village Library and Urban Village Info Center. “An Idea for the Future of Urban Village” can be an interaction of online exhibition and the on-site exhibition, while the “Urban Village Voice” is a revival of an unofficial tabloid news paper. Using the Urban Village Bulletin Board, Sheet Ad Dialogue, and mini-posters are also encouraged during the exhibition. For the duration of the Biennale, the UrbanVillage exhibition will grow as a multi-layered maze filled with people strolling around. It will become a hybrid of an exhibition and reality, and of dream and utopia. It is a factory, a laboratory, a workshop, a library, a gallery, a playground,and theme park, and it is also a window into the future.

The Urban Village section is also an exhibition that spreads all over the city. Different from a typical collection-in-one themed exhibition, historical buildings, residential areas, streets, open spaces, and even unfinished buildings scattered throughout the oldt own are turned into venues to house interactive works or events. By taking the chance of the exhibition, interventions in urban village renovation help to improve the quality of public space. It responds to the question of what the Biennale should do for the urban village instead of what the urban village could do for the Biennale. Last but not least, a Biennale hosted in an urban village is destined to be different from all the other exhibitions. The dynamic and vibrant urban villagesare the arrival community of young migrants and their last affordable habitatsin our currentcity. Preserving urban villages is not only preserving the history and memories of a city, but also planning a better and healthier future for the city. The exhibition also implies the persuasion to preserve the urban village and to start to review, reflect and reconstruct a plural and diversified urbanism-City of Hybridity and Coexistence.

孟岩

“都市村庄”板块以“杂糅与共生”为副题,是本届双年展的主题板块。展览叙事主线以“城中村”这一深圳和珠三角地区特殊的城市现实为样本,以历史研究、现实观察、介入实践与未来想象等多元视角回应与呈现“城市共生”主题。

都市村庄:落脚社区与城市未来

“城中村”是中国市场经济时期快速城市化与计划经济时代城乡二元体制冲突并融合的产物,城中村问题在以深圳和广州为代表的珠三角地区表现得尤为突出。深圳经过1992年和2004年特区内外两次城市化过程,把原农村集体所有的土地全部征转为国家所有,原村民全部转为城市居民。由于失去农地的村民仍然保有宅基地,在高速膨胀的城市包围下,面对大量涌入的流动人口和蓬勃的租房需求,村民们纷纷扩建私房以供出租,从而形成了“城中有村,村里有城,村外现代化,村里脏乱差”的城中村现象。当人们普遍觉得城中村脏、乱、差、挤、丑并且不安全的同时,城中村也将原住民的宗族文化、互识邻里与流动租户所带来的流动性、多地域文化和现代化想象杂糅、共融为一体,以自发的方式构建起了充满活力和多元、包容的社会生态,逐渐演化为爆炸式增长的城市新移民的落脚社区。

城乡之间二元关系的流转塑造了不同历史阶段的中国城市空间模型,从乡村包围城市,到城市包围乡村,再到城乡一体化及其反向的农村城市化。无疑,城市化的驱动让乡村改变了以土地作为直接生产资料的特征,转而进入了空间生产的范畴。土地由此成为了中国快速城市化的生产资料,并通过这一进程将原有的中国传统农村改造为工业村、淘宝村、城中村等多样而特殊的中国城市化模型。因此,历届深双都包含有关注“城中村”话题的作品,对深圳与珠三角地区城中村的现实生活、空间与文化的复杂性、多元性及改造策略进行过持续深入的研究。

城中村作为中国城市化进程的另类样本,它的当代遗产价值应该得到应有的重视。在其面临大规模拆除改造的当下,正是对其进行充分研究与评估的关键时刻。城中村的空间与社会结构凸显包容性和多元性,相比于今日大量在高速城市化和全球化条件下被生产出来的单一乏味的“通属性城市”,城中村的生活空间形态却格外的生动,显示出人性在创造人类自己家园中所展现的魅力。城中村作为当代城市的另类存在与周边城市既分隔又融合,结合了超乎想象的城市密度和活力强度,它们是过度规划和平庸的当代城市中仍然能激发都市人无限想象的城市空间存量。

我们关注城中村承载城市历史、弥补城市功能的同时,我们更加关注城中村的未来。随着城市发展和地价飞涨,大多数城中村都正在面临整体拆迁、高密度重建的命运。现实中的城中村承载着外来年轻移民的居住和生活,他们是创造城市未来的鲜活能量。面对创新经济模式兴起、大众创业蓬勃的新社会环境,城中村是否存在着新的机遇和可能性?城中村的空间更新与社会重建能否达到新的平衡?城中村物理空间的适应性、灵活多样以及高密度特性,或许将会带来全新的使用、运营和新的经济模型,为年轻而有活力的创业群体提供新的实验基地和孵化场所。城中村的未来映射着我们城市的未来,我们相信一种观念的变革正在来临。
都市村庄:异质与共生的展览

“都市村庄”版块包含了一系列主题展、研究展、城中展和展中展,呈现为多个展览的重叠与共生。展览结构就像城市本身一样复杂,叙事呈现密集、重叠、复调与多重讲述,既遵循整体结构又随机应变,既首尾相接又变幻莫测,且充分应对展场的种种不确定性。“都市村庄”作为全方位呈现城中村观察、研究、实践案例以及改造介入的主题版块设置有:“城中村档案馆”,“城中村演武场”和“城中村实验场”三个子板块,从城中村的知识库、改造工具手段和空间实践三个方面聚焦城中村。同时增加特别活动策划——城中村群艺馆,强调居民参与,将展览本身通过“群艺馆”的方式嵌入到城中村的日常生活之中。

“城中村档案馆”是在展览之前已先行启动的一项长期研究计划,策展人希望通过委托专项研究、合作计划及公开征集,对国内外近十几年来与城中村相关的研究进行海量收集与整理。“城中村档案馆”是城中村历史与现实生态的庞大数据库,也是不同参展人以多元视角和丰富的视觉语言所呈现的展览现场。这里汇集了从个体经验、观察模型到大数据收集,理性逻辑的分析研究与众生嘈杂的个性解读喧嚣并置。“城中村档案馆”还是一处活跃的知识生产空间,展期内不断与观众和当地居民互动,展后也希望为未来城中村的相关研究留下一份珍贵的档案。

“城中村演武场”隐喻历史记载中作为边陲军事重镇的南头城演武场,作为工具库,它收集了世界范围内城中村改造的实践案例和研究;作为观察站,它即时发布在地团队对城中村深度的观察和调研。“城中村实验场”则是一场城市介入实践,它涵盖了正在实施的南头更新计划以及策展人委托的户外空间装置、壁画,还有深双通过公开征集鼓励设计师介入古城环境改善、店面提升、民居改造的一系列实施计划,它既有自上而下的策划和整体把控,也有渐进式、自发的小介入与微更新。而“城中村群艺馆”更是希望最大限度地贴近在地生活,通过一系列的公共活动回馈南头居民。此外,展前六个月策展人发起的一系列“共生实验室”活动将延续到展期中,在古城中心设置的“南头议事厅”将试图进一步打通展览与生活现实的界面,提供决策者、专家与居民共同参与古城保护与更新的议事空间与公共平台。

位于厂区中心的“都市村庄主题馆”将是一系列自由散落的封闭展区,其中有故事屋、游戏室、照相馆、图画室、录像厅、音乐室、实验室以及未来馆等,内容取材于丰富的城中村研究与观察,命名则引自都市民间的日常空间,展示方式也更加新颖引人。迷你街区之间是纵横编织的街市,充满了不同色彩和质感,游荡其间有时便会撞见随处嵌入的微展览,就像在街道上的不期而遇。这里是一片精心制造的“藏污纳垢”与“众声喧哗”,策展人为主题展定制了一种特殊的空间地形,制造限制条件的同时也鼓励展览即兴发挥和不断生长;于是展览成了一场不断添加无休无止的实验,观众的观展体验也不再是一览无余,而是不断发现、遭遇惊喜和主动参与。

“都市村庄”是一个“进行时”的展览,展前我们发起了绘本城中村、城中村影像馆、城中村材料库、城中村图书馆,城中村信息中心等一系列征集与合作计划;“为城中村的未来献上一条计策”可以是“线上展览”互动和展览现场的结合,而“城中村之声”则可以是非正式的媒体小报的复现。“城中村布告栏”、“牛皮癣对话框”、小海报、招贴画将在展期内不断涌现。“都市村庄”随着展览时间的推移,渐渐演化成一座人们游走其间的多重迷宫,它混淆了展场与现场、梦境与乌托邦,它是工厂、实验室、工作坊、图书室、画廊、游乐园、也是探向未来的窗口。

“都市村庄”是一场遍布全城的展览。相对于集锦式的主题展,古城中散落的历史建筑、民居、街道、空地甚至烂尾楼中间也嵌入了与当地居民互动的作品和活动现场。以展览为契机实际介入城中村改造、提升公共空间品质,以此回应“双年展可以为城中村做些什么而不是城中村为双年展做些什么”的问题。最后,一届在城中村举办的双年展注定是与众不同的,“众生共荣、活色生香”的城中村是年轻移民的落脚社区在当下城市中的最后堡垒。保留城中村不仅在于保留城市档案和城市记忆,也是为筹划一个更加健康的城市未来。展览隐含了一种劝谕,保留城中村,并由这里出发审视、反思和重建一种杂糅与共生的城市多元主义体系。