Category: Exhibition
Principle Architect: Liu Xiaodu

Exhibition Time: Sep.7th-Sep.27th, 2016
Talk Time: Sep.7th,Wednesday, 1pm.
Speaker: Xiaodu Liu
Location: Somerset House, London

Growing from a 300,000 person border town to a megalopolis of 17 million, Shenzhen was the boomtown dreamland for the young and ambitious of China in the 1980s and ’90s. With the appealing draw of entrepreneurial spirit, this creative city expanded not only to the limit of its land resources, but also to the ceiling of affordable housing for the new immigrants. What’s the solution for such a rapid growing metropolis? It will inevitably include high density, but the city needs to take it even farther. Drawing inspiration from the idea of utopia, we can imagine a new and sustainable living/working environment.

DenCity-a Brand New Lifestyle Supported by Brand new Urban Form

DenCity-a Brand New Lifestyle Supported by a Brand New Urban Form

City Plan of 135m Height

City Plan of 135m Height

Cities, like dreams, are made of desires and fears, even if the thread of their discourse is secret, their rules are absurd, their perspectives deceitful, and everything conceals something else. – Italo Calvino
The people of Shenzhen might be those who understand most what Calvino means.

After working in IT for some years, Programmer D starts his business and rents a co-living space together with his partners. D usually stays for days in this building. He lives with his girlfriend in the 12 m2bedroom; his partners live in other rooms. They take turns cleaning and cooking for each other. The living room is also their working space. D goes to the café in the community center for meetings or books a meeting room if there are remote conferences.

Urban Square in DenCity

Urban Square in DenCity

His girlfriend K works as a gym coach in another community within 10 minutes walking distance and will jog with D in the afternoon in the roof park on a lower level. One of K’s students, Mr. X, 38 years old, is an investor and owner of a few units with roof terraces. He also owns one of the three express delivery companies in town, employing a dozen delivery guys; M is one of them. M has just been in Shenzhen for a month. The company provides him a storage locker of 2 ㎡ where he stores his belongings and vouchers proving his affordability of short term apartment in the online rental system. M rents the smallest living unit. He spends most of his leisure time in the common space near his unit and cooks in public kitchens in the community. He like his new job as it takes him all around town.

Starting in the logistics center, he delivers a component that Q and her 4-person team need for their project in the hourly rented work cell in a co-working space, and glimpses the new model. Passing through a public space 5 stories high, sunlight here is softer than outside because it is brought in by light cable. The climate here is also not as sweltering as the typical Shenzhen summer. By chance, he delivers a package to S who works in the thermodynamic department, and M learns how the large-scale cooling system works; cooling medium is transported as a hot gas to 3000 meters high, where it is cooled by the 5℃ air and return back to the city to cool the hot air. As the moisture in the air condenses, it is collected for other purposes. On the condensation tower, M reads the words that are written: If you come, you’re a Shenzhener.

This imaginary scene is in DenCity, an alternative future of Shenzhen in 10-30 years. As we stand on the other side of the city’s development, looking back at the transformation of the past 30 years, it’s truly mysterious and amazing, even absurd. No one could anticipate what has happened so far, and no one is able to predict an accurate future. Utopia is a social vision which will never be realized; the true future, however, is usually more quaint and sophisticated than utopia, and often more profound.

Co-Living Community in DenCity

Co-Living Community in DenCity

Super Core in DenCity

Super Core in DenCity

Shenzhen was merely a collection of villages housing 300,000 people when it became a city 36 years ago, known back then only as the border town to Hong Kong. Today, it has grown into a megalopolis of 17 million, a pioneering migrant city of passion and creativity for contemporary China. An important role for this city now is to break through current policies and regulations and to surpass the constraints of reality in order to find new development strategies for our cities.

Based on this real condition, the imagined cityscape is an exploration of the city spirit of Shenzhen, a ‘reachable utopia’ in a near future. Our proposal attempts to rethink urban form from the ground up, looking for alternatives to current solutions. Inspired by past utopian thinking on cities, we believe that those once totally utopian urban forms such as mega structures are now a practical necessity for the city of Shenzhen, and can now potentially be constructed. So we present our proposal, DenCity. It responds to current issues, challenges the conventional ways of urban development, and questions existing urban forms.

We imagine a kind of mega structure; adding to everything a land plot offers within current system (i.e. land value, commercial value, residential value), such a structure can also support more valuable assets such as co-living and co-working areas for young talents. These young talents could benefit from special land policy, and be provided an affordable living environment. Altogether, this mega structure accommodates thirty to fifty thousand people across different classes, including those who now can no longer afford to rent an apartment in the city, and provides a large variety of housing options for future upgrades. The high-density environment can effectively reduce traffic; use modern techniques help to satisfy needs of lighting, ventilation, and a thermodynamic cooling system to reduce heat and humidity in a sustainable way. Perhaps, bringing people back into a ‘cave’ will cause more nature to return to us in the future.

In DenCity, a brand new urban habitation model and a brand new lifestyle is being carried out.

Life in Dencity

Life in DenCity

Untitled2Untitled1sketch 1
sketch 2
挑选的0
design team

CURATOR:
Xiaodu Liu
URBANUS

EXHIBITION DESIGN:
URBANUS Architecture & Design
Wendy Ran Wu,
Zhi Zheng, Ran Yue, Matt Eshleman, Mingchuan Yang, Kang Chung, Jingyu Tao, Lin Tian, Fuping Dai, Yuxin Peng, Kan Liu, Chaoxian Zhang, Xinjue Wu

ADMINISTERING BODY:
Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Association

SUPPORTING BODIES:
Shenzhen International Culture Exchange Association
Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Office

ANIMATION:
Two.Ten.Four.Studio
Deng Ai, Cong Zhao,
Hanqing Chen, Jingchun Luo, Xiaohong Huang, Haoliang Chen, Wendan Zou, Shaolin Feng, Zhiyi Liu

ILLUSTRATION:
Shenzhen Illustration Association
Zhongyang Zhang,
Yusheng Zhong, Xianghui Yue, Cher Tsang, Tao Li, Ito Lu, Anny

GRAPHIC DESIGN:
Eric Zhu, Zhiwei Bai, Ziye Ye

COORDINATOR:
Ting Xu

类别: 展览
主持建筑师: 刘晓都

展览时间:2016年9月7日-27日
地点:伦敦 萨默赛特宫

2016年9月7日,伦敦设计双年展在萨默赛特宫拉开序幕。本届双年展中国馆展出URBANUS都市实践项目 “DenCity · 一个可见的深圳乌托邦”。9月7日,合伙人刘晓都在中国馆开幕式上发表主题演讲 “DenCity”。

二十世纪八九十年代,深圳从一个30万人口的边陲小镇发展为一个1700万人口的大都会,并成为中国年轻一代实现梦想的摇篮。在开放包容的城市环境下,日益膨胀的人口不仅使这个城市的土地资源捉襟见肘,还使之面临不断增加的住房压力。这个快速增长的大都市将如何突围?从乌托邦的概念中汲取灵感,巨构作为一种高密度空间,将为城市提供超越时代的空间设想,并预见性地以可持续模式解决潜在的生存问题。

DenCity-a Brand New Lifestyle Supported by Brand new Urban Form
DenCity-a Brand New Lifestyle Supported by a Brand New Urban Form

City Plan of 135m Height
City Plan of 135m Height

“城市就像梦想一样,是由渴望和恐惧组成的。” 深圳人大概是最能够理解卡尔维诺这段话含义的一群人了。

程序员D在IT企业打拼几年后开始创业,和几个伙伴合租了一个co-living space共享公寓。他和女友K住其中一个12平米的卧室,其他合租伙伴在另外几个房间,公寓的起居室同时也是办公室,大家轮流做饭和打扫房间,需要开会就去附近社区中心的咖啡厅,偶尔也会预定远程会议室。D有好几天没有出这个楼了。

Urban Square in DenCity
Urban Square in DenCity

K在另一个社区健身中心做教练,步行上班十分钟,下午会和D在低层的屋顶公园跑步,她的一个健身学员X先生是一个38岁的投资人,买了几个带屋顶平台的套间,并出资承包了城中三个物流公司之一,手下有十几个快递员。M是其中一位刚来深圳一个月的快递小哥,他用公司提供的2平米储藏柜存放私人物品,自己注册成公司担保的集成住户,并在网上预定可以短租的最小住所,这样可以省不少钱;闲暇时经常在住所旁边的公共区域活动,也会去社区公共厨房做饭。他喜欢这份在市镇范围内活动的工作。

M刚刚从物流中心出发去一个共享办公空间为Q小姐送一个零件,她的四人合作组在一个计时共享的出租小隔间里做项目。M在送快递时瞥见她们做的一些新模型。从办公空间出来,他经过一个5层高的公共空间,这里的阳光比户外柔和,小气候也不同于深圳闷热的大环境,这一切都归功于将日光从户外导入室内的光纤设备和热力系统。他通过送快递偶然认识了物业公司热力交换技术部的S,她解释了热气作为冷媒如何被传送到3000米高空,并被5℃的冷空气降温之后传回城中,这些空气中的冷凝的水分也被收集起来加以利用。在冷凝塔旁边,M看见一个招贴画,上面写着:来了就是深圳人。

整个想象场景都发生在DenCity,这可能是未来10年或是30年之后的深圳。我们站在现实的十字路口,回顾过去30年来这座城市的变迁更觉得奇妙、不可思议,甚至是荒诞。没有任何人能预想深圳现在所发生的一切,正如我们也无法准确预测未来。乌托邦虽然是一个永远不能实现的社会愿景,但未来却往往比乌托邦的梦想更离奇、复杂、有趣,甚至更为深刻。

Co-Living Community in DenCity
Co-Living Community in DenCity

Super Core in DenCity
Super Core in DenCity

36年前,深圳还只是一个30万人口的小镇,以通往香港的陆路口岸闻名。然而现在深圳却成长为一个超过1700万人口的大都会。这样一个充满激情和创造力的移民城市是当代中国最具先锋性的城市。突破现有的政策法规,超越现实的束缚,尝试新的城市发展策略是深圳所承载的一个重要责任。

基于现实情况探究不久的未来,是一个更富有深圳精神的城市想象,我们称之为“可见的乌托邦 Reachable Utopia”。我们的提案试图从根本上重新思考城市的形态,并寻找另类的可能性。从乌托邦城市的概念中汲取灵感,我们认为过去出现的一些乌托邦城市形态,比如巨构,在当下的深圳已经具备实现的可能。DenCity便是这样的一个提案。基于对现实问题的回应,它做出了挑战现有城市建设的惯例和规则的另类模式,并质疑了当下的城市形态。

我们可以想象这样一个巨构,它具备部分的城市开发功能,正常的地价和常规的商业居住价值,例如为青年人才附加一个更大的共享工作和居住区,使得他们可以享受特殊地价政策下更优惠的生活成本。这个巨构在理想中可为三至五万不同的阶层的人提供生活空间,并形成开放的升级系统,使得那些承担不起现有城市租金的人也可以在这里找到合适的居所。高密度的空间可以最大限度减轻城市交通负荷,现代的技术的应用可以解决采光和通风需求,通往高空的热交换系统形成自然绿色的降温除湿系统。也许,随着人们退回集中“穴居”,未来的城市会有更多自然得以回归。

一种新型的城市生活体和生活方式正在被催生出来。

Life in Dencity
Life in DenCity

 Untitled2Untitled1sketch 1
sketch 2
挑选的0
design team

策展人:
刘晓都
都市实践

展览设计:
都市实践
吴然 | 郑植  岳然  Matt Eshleman  杨铭川  仲刚 | 陶靖宇  田林  戴福平  彭宇新  刘勘  张超贤  吴鑫珏

管理机构:
深圳市设计之都推广促进会

支持机构:
深圳国际交流协会
深圳市设计之都推广办公室

动画:
二十四号设计工坊
艾登  赵丛 | 陈汉卿  黄晓洪  罗景春  陈浩良  邹文丹  冯少琳  刘智仪

插画:
深圳市插画协会
张忠阳 | 钟宇声  岳向辉  曾雪儿  李涛  卢伊腾  安浩儿

平面设计:
朱德才  柏志威  叶子业

协调:徐挺