Category: Renovation
Principal Architect: Wang Hui

Team: Chen Chun, Liu Shuang, Cao Haoming, Chen Xin, Cui Jing

Project Location: No. 147 Xiheyan Street, Beijing
Project Period: 2014.9.6 – 2014.9.25
Project Status: Completed
Floor Area: 63㎡

Client: Little Ant Shadow Play Troupe
Lighting Collaborator: Zheng Jianwei Lighting Design Studio
Photographer:  Wei Bin

<5C5C3139322E3136382E312E375CB9B2CFED5CCEC4BCFED6D0D7AAD5BE5CCEC

头图

This is a public welfare project, located in Xiheyan Street, Beijing. The client is the Little Ant Shadow Play Troupe, consisting of patients with growth hormone secretion deficiency. The name “Little Ant” comes from the fact that these puppeteers are only as tall as children, and look like children. The shadow play troupe is there to help improve the lives and self-esteems of these patients, but sadly they did not have a permanent theatre. Therefore, Dashilar, a traditional neighbourhood of craftsmen was where they chose to settle. It is not only an ideal home, but also a window for the community to pay more attention to these “little people”.

As a traditional handicraft, shadow play uses intricate and detailed carvings to produce charming figures used for the play. The design exploits this characteristic of shadow play and applies the idea of detailed carvings into interior design. Golden wheat straw board, which has natural texture and a slight fragrance of wheat, was chosen to be the main material. The beams combined with vertical carved boards extend to the ground on one sidewall, forming a big shelf. On the other hand, the upper half of the other sidewall was designed to be a full-length mirror, which enlarges the space two times its size. The stage was intended to rotate so that passage to the workshop in the back would be open when there is no performances. Since the workshop is only two metres wide, a curved-profile table was designed, not only allowing the staff sit on both sides, but also allowing the master to guide their work in centre of desk.

This public welfare project was supported through the support and donations of many social resources. The lighting was designed for free by the team who designed the 2008 Olympic Square. They also helped to acquire all the lamps for free. The entrance is composed of a large glass door; and that glass is the same as the ones used for the Apple Store façades. By having the world’s highest transparency, the entrance facade would allow passers see the activities indoors clearly. Almost all of material used in this project was a public donation, and that of course includes the architectural design.

This design seeks to use contemporary design concept in order to create a new social stage for the disabled. The Little Ant shadow play theatre received much praise from its occupants after its completion, where the public got to learn more about these beloved “little people”. The architect also received warm responses when he called on everyone to support this welfare project. It also testifies that welfare projects can help inspire positivity to the society.

小蚂蚁0923--for网站

Description of ‘Little Ants’ / by Li Han

工程日志无字

Project Logs

平面图无图名

Plan

小蚂蚁戏团

2

Passersby Attracted by the Theatre

4

Entrance

3

Stage Viewed from Auditoria

a
b

类别: 改造
主持建筑师: 王辉

项目组: 陈春 刘爽 曹淏铭 陈欣 崔婧

项目地点:北京市东城区西河沿大街147号
项目时间:2014.9
项目状态:建成
建筑面积:63㎡

业主:小蚂蚁皮影剧团
照明合作:郑见伟照明设计工作室
摄影:魏斌

<5C5C3139322E3136382E312E375CB9B2CFED5CCEC4BCFED6D0D7AAD5BE5CCEC

头图

这是一个位于北京大栅栏西河沿大街的一个公益设计项目。剧场的使用者是小蚂蚁皮影剧团,一个由生长素分泌缺乏症患者组织成的民间皮影演出和制作团体。“小蚂蚁”之所以得名,是因为这些被称为“袖珍人”的患者只有儿童的身高,而且其相貌也像儿童。这个皮影团是这个病患群体自强不息的模范。然而,长期以来却没有合适的固定剧场,因此落户大栅栏这一传统街区,既是找到了他们理想的家,又是找到了一个让社会更多关注“袖珍人”的窗口。

皮影作为一个传统的手工艺,有着迷人的镂空雕刻魅力。以镂空的皮影图案为视觉主题,放大到空间中,使皮影的主题跃然而出。房间的主材选用金黄色的麦秸板,表面有着自然的纹理,同时也微微散发着麦秸的芳香。这种图案被设计在四道悬梁上,形成了观众区的纵深感。悬梁在侧墙结合立板落地,构成一整面货架。而另一面墙的上半部则设计为通长的镜面,把窄空间放大了一倍。舞台被设计为可旋转,这样便可以在非放映时间打开去往后面工作间的通道。工作间只有两米宽,因此设计了一张曲线轮廓的桌子,满足了人员在两侧入座,同时师傅还可以置身桌面的中心来指导大家的工作。

这个公益项目得到了许多社会资源的支持和奉献。照明设计是由2008年奥运广场的设计团队义务设计的,他们还联系来免费灯具。店面是一块大玻璃的简单构图。这块玻璃是和用于苹果店立面一样的超白高透玻璃,世界上最高的透明度使内部的活动能最大程度地被过往的路人透视。类似这样的公益支持几乎涉及这个项目的每一个材料。当然,设计更是无私的奉献。

这个设计力图用当下的设计理念,为一个特殊的残疾人群打造新的社会舞台。建成后得到了使用者和观众的热烈喜爱,使大众更多地了解到可爱的“袖珍人”们。当建筑师号召大家为这个公益项目出力得到热烈反响,又更证明了公益设计作为一种行为,释放出社会公平的正能量。

小蚂蚁0923--for网站

“小蚂蚁”自述/李涵 绘

工程日志无字

工程日志

平面图无图名

平面图

小蚂蚁戏团

2

剧场吸引了胡同里过往的行人

4

在胡同里看入口

3

从观众区看舞台

a
b