Category: Exhibition
Principle Architect: Meng Yan

Co-curators: Gary Paige & Clifford Pearson
Project Location: 1st Floor, Tower A, Diaosujiayuan, NO.8,  ZhongkangZhogn Road,Shangmeilin,Futian, Shenzhen
Exhibition Period: July 29th-August 31st, 2016

Hubei Old Village Urban Regeneration Research
URBANUS+Old Hubei and Luohu Regeneration Design Workshop

2011 Origin: During a research visit to Old Hubei Village, URBANUS partner Meng Yan was very surprised by the fact that a 500 years old village still exists in the core area of Shenzhen, a city generally known as a history of just over 30 years. Old Hubei has a clear, integrated spatial layout that helps fully preserve the traditional living habits, customs, and culture of Teochew tenants. Through various consultations, Meng Yan learned that the old village was under high risk of being demolished and reconstructed. Therefore, Meng Yan built a team in Urbanus andstarted a research of the history and current situation of Old Hubei, meanwhile,  using the resources around him to encourage relevant people to concern about this old village.

2012 URBANUS launched a workshop at E6 Space to discuss about the possibilities of how to preserve the old site of Hubei Village and its regeneration, with inviting representatives of Old Hubei villagers, architects, urban planners, scholars from Shenzhen University, government representatives, media reporters, and Zhang Jingwei, a famous director, and a Taiwan Golden Horse Prize winner who was one of the Hubei villagers, etc. Meanwhile, URBANUS architects sought a better regeneration plan from a professional perspective where both the park and the old town could be preserved. The study was made into a report, and the entire process and participants were completely voluntary and self-funded.

2012 URBANUS handed in the report to the Government of Luohu District, together with a letter by Meng Yan, addressing to the Secretary and governor of Luohu District. Meng Yan illustrated the value of Old Hubei to Luohu District and the city of Shenzhen. The feedback from the government was positive and affirmative.

2012 The key officials in charge of Luohu District held a meeting with the senior managers from the developer, China Resources (Holdings) Co.,Ltd. and Meng Yan from URBANUS to explore a win-win possibility. URBANUS suggested that China Resources could absolutely pursue both of their economic benefits and the preservation of  the culture heritage of the city even without complementing massive demolition in the old village. After that, China Resources formally authorized URBNUS to undergo a special study and research on preserving and regenerating the Old Hubei Village. Upon Meng Yan’s advice, Prof. Rao Xiaojun of Shenzhen University took charge of the surveying and mapping of the old Village. Later, Meng Yan organized and took a group of relevant people from China Resources, Huayang Design, the company which was in charge of this project, to make an on-site investigation of the old village. A common conclusion was made from various parties that the old village was well worth being preserved.

2013 URBANUS kept on the study and research of this project, held workshops, and finally presented a proposal on how to preserve the complete layout of the Old Hubei Village to the developers. Shenzhen University also presented their research report in the meantime.

Three years since then, in May 2016, the developer published their developing plan, in the name of protecting the Old Hubei Village, by “removing, demolishing and creating” the Old Village. As soon as this plan was published, it was widely believed that the plan would completely destroy the old Village in the name of preserving.  And this has triggered a series of significant discussion about the future of Old Hubei Village.

Due to the lack of a better communication system for people to question the developing plan of the developers, a group of people from various fields of culture, social studies, urban planning and architecture initiated a plan called “Hubei Old Village 120 Cities Public Plan”. On July 2nd, a workshop named “A Win-win Possibility: Preserving Old Hubei Village & Luohu’s Regenerating” was held. More than 100 people participated in this workshop.  The proposal “Hubei Consensus” was announced as a result of the event.

On July 3rd, 83-years-old Prof. Ruan Yisan, a famous promoter to protect ancient heritage sites in China, came to Shenzhen to attend the forum “a Dialogue on Hubei” to show his support on preserving the old village. These activities have aroused extensive attention from the society and have also been specially reported by CCTV and other local media.

On July 5th and 7th, Southern Metropolis Daily published the responses from the department of Cultural Relics Preservation, the developer and the Luohu government on this issue. The Luohu Regeneration Bureau responded to protect the Three Vertical and Eight Horizontal spatial layout of Hubei Village; however, the information on the specific range and area haven’t been provided. Conflicts among different opinions and perspectives will determine the future of Old Hubei.

160729单页_Hubei exhibition Rural-Urban Re-inventions_页面_1

160729单页_Hubei exhibition Rural-Urban Re-inventions_页面_2

160729单页_Hubei exhibition Rural-Urban Re-inventions_页面_3

39458947930816815 调整

797638604900264305

346194617348307005

394393719130336112

629409423689387610调整

类别: 展览
主持建筑师: 孟岩

联合策展人:Gary Paige & Cliff Pearson
展览地点:深圳市福田区上梅林中康路8号,雕塑家园A座1楼
展览时间:2016年7月29日-8月31日
开幕活动:2016年7月29日18时

湖贝古村城市更新研究
URBANUS都市实践+湖贝古村保护与罗湖复兴设计工作坊

2011年 缘起:都市实践合伙人孟岩考察湖贝古村,十分震撼于在惯常所说的三十多年历史的深圳的核心区域竟然还存活着一个500年的古村,古村空间格局完整,潮汕租户生活习俗完整被保留;经查询得知湖贝古村面临被城市更新所拆除的风险,于是领导都市实践研究部自发对湖贝古村的历史和现状进行研究,并发动自己身边的资源,动员相关人士去关注湖贝古村。

2012年 都市实践在E6空间组织工作坊,邀请湖贝村民代表、建筑规划专家、社会人文学者、政府部门、社会学者、媒体人士,湖贝原住民、台湾金马奖得主张经纬导演等,共同探讨湖贝古村保留及旧改的可能性,同时都市实践建筑师从专业的角度寻找解决办法,重新在原设计方案基础上做调整,发掘多方共赢的可能,公园和古村可以全部保留,进而形成城市设计研究报告和测算,整个研究过程都是自筹经费。

2012年都市实践将研究报告递交罗湖区政府,孟岩亲笔写了一封信给时任罗湖区委书记和区长-阐述古村对罗湖和深圳的价值,罗湖区政府给予积极的评价。

2012年 罗湖区主要负责领导首次约开发商华润高层与都市实践孟岩等面谈,一起探讨共赢的可能,都市实践认为华润完全可能摆脱旧改大拆大建的模式,在保留城市文化遗产的同时实现经济指标的要求,之后,华润正式委托都市实践做古村保护及活化的专项研究,都市实践建议对古村进行详细的测绘,深圳大学的饶小军教授主持了这项工作;之后孟岩又亲自带各相关方再进湖贝古村考察,包括华润、华阳(设计公司)的主要负责人等,当时大家在场各方均表达古村值得保留。

2013-2014年, 都市实践继续推进研究,做了多次设计工作坊,最终完整保留古村空间格局和公园的提案递交给开发商,深圳大学研究报告也同期呈交。

时隔三年,2016年5月,开发商公布的方案以“移建、拆建、创建”等方式保护古村,被认为名义上保护,实则全盘拆毁,湖贝古村的命运引发了新一轮影响广泛的公共讨论。

因缺乏更好沟通机制并质疑开发商公布的古村局部保留方案,深圳一些文艺、社会研究与规划建筑界人士共同发起“湖贝古村120城市公共计划”。7月2日,举办“共赢的可能:湖贝古村保护与罗湖复兴设计工作坊”,深圳各界专家设计师上百人参与研讨建言,并发出“湖贝共识”建议书。

7月3日,83岁高龄的中国著名“古城卫士”阮仪三教授专程飞往深圳参与“对话湖贝”,支持古村保护计划。这些活动被舆论广泛关注,深圳多家媒体乃至中央电视台作了专题报道。

7月5、7日南都报分别刊登了文保部门、发展商和区政府的回应。罗湖区重建局回应要保护“三纵八横”街巷格局,但没有公布保护具体范围和面积。不同观点和立场的交锋,决定着湖贝古村的命运。

160729单页_Hubei exhibition Rural-Urban Re-inventions_页面_1

160729单页_Hubei exhibition Rural-Urban Re-inventions_页面_2

160729单页_Hubei exhibition Rural-Urban Re-inventions_页面_3

39458947930816815 调整

797638604900264305346194617348307005

394393719130336112

629409423689387610调整