Recently “villages-amidst-the-city” has been a hot academic issue. URBANUS is giving attention to this issue as an active participant in urban construction, rather than as a scholar. This participation reflects the positioning, attitude and intent of our practice.

The cause for the formation of “villages-amidst-the-city” is simple. A huge amount of agricultural land has been taken over by cities due to the rapid urbanization that has occurred since late 20th century in China, however, the law-protected villagers residential lots are intact. Hence the “villages-amidst-the-city” were formed. Confined by horizontal size, these villages are sprawling vertically and increasing in density at an even greater rate than the expansion of the city. Because of this they are key providers of cheap housing for immigrants and the poor.

Aesthetically, the “villages-amidst-the-city” are seen as scar of the city. Politically, it is regarded as a sort of time bomb. Except from those artists who appreciate the “villages-amidst-the-city” as a meaningful background for their dramas (e.g. Hong Kong shanty housing shown in Fruit Chen’s movie), these villages have become a seemingly unsolvable problem to those who take serious consideration of the issue.

URBANUS realizes that the “villages-amidst-the-city” are an inevitable outcome during the process of urbanization in China. It is a kind of basic housing type in the contemporary city. While white-collar workers are starting to gain affluence and enjoy the middle class life style, the other pole of the city is opening wide to those low-income urban residents. We have to be aware of the Chinese agricultural population, proportion and geographical distribution, as well as the liberation of farmers in the post-industrial age. We also have to be aware that this is an important time in urban development. The more people that live in a comfortable middle class life style, the more low-income people living in a much poorer condition to support the above comfort. Hence we need these villages for a balanced society. There are various kinds of social benefits to schemes planning to replace the villages, such as compensatory removal of villagers. However, these are not realistic solutions for most of the residents relying on the village for affordable housing. In most cases, to relocate the people is to essentially deprive their means of making a life. These villages are not only places to live; they are also a basic work place for the inhabitants. Residents can simply use the same location to start small businesses. There are countless opportunities. If this kind of close-knit social frame is unbound into another urban form-unit blocks, then the above simple living condition will vanish.

The outstanding social and architectural condition of the “villages-amidst-the-city” is their spatial vitality. Compared to those “well-designed” cities which are driven by urbanization and globalization, these villages represent an extraordinary vitality in their physical and spatial configuration, as well as the enthusiasm of human beings who spontaneously create their own homes. From an architect’s point of view, the “villages-amidst-the-city” should not be bulldozed.

URBANUS is a firm with concern for the state of social engagement. Its goal is to design a humanistic urban environment amidst the circumstance of today’s rapid and careless urbanization. URBANUS’ approach towards the “villages-amidst-the-city” is realistic. On one hand, we admit that these villages are a realistic solution for the housing problem of the low-income public; hence we refuse to simply remove them. On the other hand, we are trying to discover a new method, via introducing positive public spaces and functions as well as redefining the villages’ own local characteristics, in order to upgrade the living condition within these villages, as well as to maintain a culture beneficial to the city.

These villages are in dangerous condition and may inevitably face a destructive future; at that time, there will be people who will mourn for the disappearance of the once vivid urban spaces and dwelling in the villages as they did for the ex-slums in Hong Kong. However, as a basic solution for housing the low-income class, these villages might exist forever, and at that time, there will be people bemoaning as they do about the slums in the beautiful seashore city of Rio De Janeiro. In such an age during which architects can be an active force in an effort to push society ahead, these village designs will have their values not only architecturally, but also socially and politically. We are presenting to readers four case studies revealing a potential bright future for the “villages-amidst-the-city.”

Proposal for Dynamic Rehabilitation of Gangxia Village, Shenzhen

Proposal for Transformation of Fuxin Village, Shenzhen

Proposal for Mixed Residential and Commercial complex in Xinzhou Village, Shenzhen

Proposal for Dafen Art Museum in Dafen Village, Shenzhen

Hubei Old Village Urban Regeneration Research

Baishizhou 5 Villages Urban Regeneration Research

城中村是一个学术热题。URBANUS都市实践关注城中村问题,并不是从学者的角度,而是从城市建设积极参与者的角度。这种参与,反映了事务所的定位、态度和意向。

城中村的成因很简单。20世纪末开始的快速的中国城市化吞没了大量的农业用地,却没能消化掉受国家土地政策保护的农业人口的宅基地,从而形成了城市中的村落。这些村落并没有为城市提供一道悠闲的风景线,相反,它们利用政策的疏漏,随着城市的扩张而更疯狂地扩张,为新增的城市下层人口提供了基本的廉租住宅。

在美学上,城中村被很多人视为城市的疤痕;从政治上,更是一种定时炸弹。除了艺术家愿意把城中村作为一个有意义的背景而展开戏剧性的故事(例如陈果电影中类似的香港棚户区),对于认真关心城市问题的人士,城中村是道无解的难题。

URBANUS都市实践对城中村的敏感在于我们意识到城中村是在中国城市化进程中一个城市所必然包含的内容,是当代都市的一种基本“户型”。当城市白领和精英开始热衷于中产阶级生活时,城市的另一个极端正向低收入阶层敞开更大的门。不要忘记中国农业人口的数量、比重及地理分布,以及后工业时代对农业人口的解放,更不要忘记这是一个城市的淘金时代。当前中国越来越多的城市人口能够用廉价的方式获得中产阶级的舒适性时,就会有成几何级数倍数的低收入阶级用并不舒适的生活条件来支撑这种舒适性。这种城市经济和社会的平衡需要城中村。虽然有各种社会福利,如通过补偿性拆迁的方式来尽量推掉不美观的城中村,但这至多只能照顾城中村的地主,而不能最终惠及到它的广大租户。而更多的情形是,拆迁剥夺了地主和租户的生存权。因为城中村或类似于城中村的廉租住区不仅是居住的场所,还是极其简易的就业场所。作为一个完整的小社会,许多人可以利用自己的居室就地成就一种生意,其形态五花八门,即便最具想象力的人也难以尽数。而一旦这种交织的社会结构被肢解到新都市的另一种户型-单元楼之中,这种简单的谋生条件则消失殆尽。毁灭城中村,也是在毁灭一种下层人的城市生活方式。

城中村的社会性建筑学成果是空间的生动性。相比于今日大量在高速都市化和全球化条件下被设计出来的布景式的城市,城中村的物理空间形态表现出出奇的生动,显示出人性在创造人类自己家园中所展现的魅力。在建筑师的眼里,城中村不应成为推土机下的冤魂。

URBANUS都市实践从成立之初便选择了一条关注社会的道路,即从研究当前的城市发展状态出发,在快速的城市化进程中,去创造人性化的城市。面对城中村这一当代都市化的基本“户型”,URBANUS都市实践的介入态度是现实主义。一方面,我们承认“城中村”模式是解决城市低层生存的一种现实的方式,而拒绝将之简单地拆除;另一方面又积极寻找直接了当的方式,通过植入积极的公共空间、公共功能等方式适度挖掘城中村产业的地方特色,以此来提升城中村的民生条件,并创造一个有益于整体社会的良性文化。

处于危房状态的城中村或许会成为一个再无物理痕迹的历史,届时,肯定会有人像追悼香港逝去的九龙城那样扼腕;但作为解决城市下层阶层生存之道的城中村也可能变成一个永远的现实,届时,也肯定会有人像哀叹里约热内卢美丽的滨海山城中夹杂着无限的贫民窟而遗憾。在一个建筑师可以成为一支推动社会进步的力量的时代,建筑学意义上的城中村方案会有其社会学和政治学的价值。在城中村改造中,国内外学者虽然已有不少建树,但书肆中难寻实践的案例,这本书所提供给读者的是一个具有批判性立场的建筑事务所及其合作者们从四个具体的工程案例中所展示的城中村可能的前景。

深圳岗厦村有机整改

深圳福新村改造

深圳新洲村 高度混合的居住和商业街

深圳大芬村美术馆 一座浓缩的城市聚落

湖贝老村城市更新研究

深圳白石洲五村城市更新研究