Calling for Urban Diversity, Inclusiveness and “Coexistence”

Under the theme of Cities, Grow in Differences, three sections will be presented, namely Global South, Urban Village, and Art Making City The Global South section is curated by Liu Xiaodu, and Urban Village section by Meng Yan, while Zhu Ye acts as the co-curator for the aforesaid two sections on urbanism and architecture. The Art Making City section is curated by HouHanru and co-curated by curator and artist Yang Yong.

2017 UABB Introduction_EN 64-65 750

Global South offers the background, horizonand stancefor the overall theme of Cities, Grow in Differences. Based on the PRD region, it discusses the obsolete east-opposes-west model through the perspective of global experiences.“South” South sub-section curated by Li Xiangning and Pei Zhao presents the informal building models and the new urban strategy in the Latin America. The Other South sub-section curated by Feng Lu provides a comparative study on architectural typology and conducts analysis of geographical differences in culture and space for the two “South”–Jiangnan and Lingnan in China. This sub-section includes the work of architect Liu Jiakun, West Village • Basis Yard, a green basin for the city, as well as other South-themed works byarchitects Hua Li, Li Hu, ZhuangShen, Dong Gong, Liu Yichun and Chen Yifeng. The sub-section A Drifting PRD, curated by Feng Yuan and Fan Lin, employs contemporary art to discuss the unique history of the Pearl River Delta, including its history of immigration, the story of migration of Hakka and the associated social and cultural changes. 

The Urban Village section with subtitle of “Hybridity and Coexistence” is the main themed exhibition of this year’s UABB. The narrative line focuses on urban villages, representing a unique urban reality in Shenzhen and the Pearl River Delta region. The exhibition responds to and interprets the theme of Cities, Grow in Differencefrom multiple perspectives, including historical research, in-depth observation, site-specific intervention, and future imagination. The “Urban Village Furniture Exchange Program” by Huang Heshan and Jiang Fan, authors of Wild Design, draw attention to the evolution of the social system in the urban villages. The Handshake 302 studio, co-founded by Shenzhen-based American anthropologist and artist Mary Ann O’Donnell will present an interactive game work “Path Breaking Shenzhen” to share her unique insights on architecture, planning and culture in Shenzhen. Brazilian architectural photographer Leonardo Finotti, Chinese-American photographer Mark Leong, Italian artists RUN and HITNES, and France-based artist Hu Jiamin will all present their photographic and mural works in this section. A highlight in the Urban Village section is the practical interventions, including the “floating” lantern tailored by Nader Tehrani, the initiator of the parameter-based design, for the visitors to take a break at the plant square at UABB; the colorful WEGO installation by Dutch architecture team MVRDV + The Why Factory that will make a parable of the future urban life. The first UABB’s curatorChang Yung Ho will create an information pavilion outside the Nantou south gate to serve as the first stop of the exhibition. Besides, a special “Public Art & Performance” sub-section will gather leading figures in film, theatre, dance, and animation, including the Wang Hongwei and Wang Xiaoshuai, to present extraordinary artistic activities and programs to visitors and urban villagers alike.

This year UABB (Shenzhen) embarks on a new adventure, holding its first ever art-focused exhibition and opening new grounds in the art world as it unites artists and planners, architects, designers and urban researchers, for interdisciplinary collaboration. Art Making City, while presenting various critical researches on the issues of the street, home, public space and social production by artists from different parts of the world, explores unorthodox city-making approaches and their effects on the local reality.

呼唤多元包容的共生城市模式

在“城市共生”的主题之下,展览从内容结构上分作三个有机联系的板块:“世界|南方”、“都市|村庄”和“艺术造城”。“世界|南方”板块由刘晓都总策展; “都市|村庄”板块由孟岩总策展;城市和建筑的两个板块由朱晔执行策展;“艺术造城”板块由侯瀚如总策展,杨勇联合策展。

2017 UABB Introduction_EN 64-65 750

世界 | 南方板块为本届展览主题“城市共生”提供了讨论的背景、视野和立场,即立足于以深圳为代表的珠三角地区,从全球经验的视野探讨超越东西对立的过时模式。李翔宁裴钊策划的“南方南方”分板块展现拉美非正式建筑建造模式和新的城市策略;冯路策展的“他者南方”分板块对中国两个南方——江南和岭南做出建筑类型学上的比较研究及地缘文化和空间的差异分析。其中建筑师刘家琨将展出他的作品“西村•贝森大院”,呈现一个属于城市的“绿色盆地”;华黎李虎庄慎董功柳亦春陈屹峰等独立建筑师均会在这一板块展示立足于“南方”的建筑作品。冯原樊林策展的分板块 “漂变的珠三角”用当代艺术的方法讨论珠三角独特的移民历史、客家迁移故事以及与之关联的社会文化变迁。

“杂糅与共生”的都市|村庄板块是本届双年展的主题板块。展览叙事主线以“城中村”这一深圳和珠三角地区特殊的城市现实为样本,以历史研究、现实观察、介入实践与未来想象等多元视角回应与呈现“城市共生”主题。《野生设计》作者黄河山姜凡借与居民互动的“家具交换计划”激发对城中村社会系统演变的关注;旅居深圳的美国人类学者、艺术家马立安(Mary Ann O’Donnell联合创立的“握手302”将以互动游戏“闯深圳”体现对深圳建筑、城市规划及文化环境的独特见解;巴西建筑摄影家列奥纳多·菲诺蒂(Leonardo Finotti)、华裔摄影师梁永光(Mark Leong)、意大利艺术家RUNHITNES旅法艺术家胡嘉岷都将参与其中,带来摄影及壁画作品。实质性的“介入改造”也将成为一大亮点:参数化设计鼻祖纳迪尔·特拉尼(Nader Tehrani为厂房广场量身定制轻盈漂浮的敞轩供人休憩;荷兰前卫建筑师团队MVRDV+智慧研究所(The Why Factory色彩斑斓的WEGO装置将成为未来垂直城市生活的寓言;首届深双策展人张永和将会在古城南门外建造开放灵活的信息亭作为观展第一站。此外,特别活动板块“群艺馆”邀请王宏伟王小帅等一众电影、戏剧,舞蹈、动画等领域领军人物,为古城居民和观众带来一系列艺术活动和计划。

今届深双一大亮点是首次凝聚艺术为一个板块,构筑艺术家与规划师、建筑师、设计师及城市研究者跨界合作的图景。“艺术造城”板块在展示当代世界各地艺术家对街道、家居、公共空间以及社会生产问题的种种批判性探索同时,引入一系列“艺术介入城市”的直接行动,利用当代艺术的活力和创造性的表达介入城市生活,激发多元的试验,尤其强调与当地社区居民的互动合作,由此衍生更有活力和创意、更开放、民主的城市生活系统。