Introduction of 2017 Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism/Architecture Curatorial Concept

Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\Architecture (UABB) is currently the only biennial exhibition in the world to be based exclusively on the set themes of URBANISM AND URBANIZATION. Coorganized by the two neighboring and closely interacting cities of Shenzhen and Hong Kong, UABB situates itself within the regional context of the rapidly urbanizing Pearl River Delta, concerns itself with globally common urban issues, extensively communicates and interacts with the wider public, is presented using expressions of contemporary visual culture, and engages international, avant-garde dimensions as well as discourses of public interest.

2017 UABB Chief Curators

总策展人

Chief Curators:MENG Yan、HOU Hanru、LIU Xiaodu (in the photo position order order)

MENG Yan

Principal and Co-founder of URBANUS Architecture & Design Inc.

MENG Yan has focused on architectural design and urban research in the context of contemporary Chinese cities since 1999. His built work includes Luohu Art Museum, Dafen Art Museum, Tulou Collective Housing, OCT Art & Design Gallery, Oct Loft Renovation, Maillen Hotel & Apartment, Library of South University of Science and Technology, Artron Art Center, CGN Headquarter Tower and Shum Yip Upper Hills Loft. Many of these works win prestigious architecture awards and have been exhibited worldwide. URBANUS first published the research album of the urban villages in Shenzhen, Village/City City/Village, in 2006 and has continued the researches and urban interventions of the Urban Village for the following ten years.

MENG Yan was appointed chief curator of the Shenzhen Pavilion in the 2010 Shanghai Expo and he also participated in curatorial projects including the 2010 Dafen International Mural Exhibition, the 2010 Convection•Dafen International Contemporary Art Exhibition, the 2010 OCT International Mural Exhibition and the 2014 Chinese Pavilion of the 14th International Venice Architecture Biennale.

MENG Yan graduated from Tsinghua University and Miami University and he is an architect licensed in New York State. He is now a visiting professor at the School of Architecture at Syracuse University in New York. He served as a visiting professor at the School of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong and as the member of Academic Committee of Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\ Architecture (Shenzhen).

HOU Hanru

Curator and critic based in Paris, San Francisco and Rome. He worked at San Francisco Art Institute as Director of Exhibitions and Public Program and Chair of Exhibition and Museum Studies from 2006 to 2012. He is currently the Artistic Director of MAXXI (National Museum for 21st Century Art and National Museum of Architecture), Rome, Italy. He has curated and co-curated numerous exhibitions including “China/Avant-Garde” (1989), “Cities On The Move” (1997–2000), Shanghai Biennale (2000),Gwangju Biennale (2002), Venice Biennale (French Pavilion, 1999, Z.O.U. — Zone Of Urgency, 2003, Chinese Pavilion, 2007), Nuit Blanche (2004, Paris), the 2nd Guangzhou Triennial (2005), the 2nd Tirana Biennial (2005), the 10th Istanbul Biennial (2007), “Global Multitude” (Luxembourg 2007), “Trans(cient)City” (Luxembourg 2007), EV+A 2008 (Limerick), The 10th Lyon Biennale (Lyon, 2009), The 5th Auckland Triennial (2013), etc. HOU Hanru has been consultant and advisor in many international institutions including The Guggenheim Museum (New York), Times Museum of Contemporary Art (Guangzhou), Today Art Museum (Beijing), Deutsche Bank Collection (Frankfurt), Kadist Art Foundation (San Francisco/Paris), etc. 

LIU Xiaodu

Principal and co-founder of URBANUS Architecture & Design Inc.

LIU Xiaodu has engaged in projects of urban and architecture design in Shenzhen since 1998, gaining rich experience and receiving numerous design awards. LIU Xiaodu has led a number of urban design and research projects of URBANUS, including a series of Urban Village researches and high-density urban morphology studies.

LIU Xiaodu has served as the member of the Academic Committee of Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\ Architecture (Shenzhen) for several sections, and he currently holds the post of the first chairman for the Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Association. LIU Xiaodu has participated in numerous domestic and international architectural exhibitions and academic events including the 6th Sao Paulo International Biennale of Architecture and Design 2005, Lisbon Architecture Triennial 2007, Taking a Stance in Rotterdam: Daring design | Daring Design 2008, and Tulou Solo Exhibition of Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum in New York etc. His major curatorial experience includes China Pavilion of 2016 London Biennale etc.

LIU Xiaodu was graduated from Tsinghua University and Miami University. He served as assistant professor in the school of architecture at Tsinghua University in 1980s, and recently taught architectural design at University of Hong Kong, IUAV, Shenzhen University and Tsinghua University, etc.

Features of 2017 UABB

Feature 1:About strategies of the future city

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.02

Feature 2: Seamless connection to urban village renovation

This exhibition itself is the start of the Nantou renewing plan, see the Biennale as  the first stage of the renovation, to improve the quality of public spaces, and leave great heritage for the old city of nantou.

图片6

Feature 3: Deep into the village,Interaction with Nantou 

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_04-1Renovation of the urban village houses, ”the dreamer,the reformer” activity (reference: Beijing design week)

Feature 4:Deep into the village, Public Art performance

Make all people participate in urban village shooting plan, with professional crew and grass-root performers. Wang Xiaoshuai, Geng Jun, Li Yifan and several famous directors went onto the village to shoot and discuss with villagers. Urban village film panorama, using a close-to-life way to bring exhibition into villagers’life.

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_05

Feature 5: First open call in history

The first open call in the biennale history, and have received hundreds of proposals from participants, about a quarter has been approved. This open call has attracted urban design research team ,universities and student team, independent architects, academics, photographers, illustrators and artists from all over the world, also artists who works in urban villages.

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_0620170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_07

Feature 6: An open curatorial progress

2017UABB “city,grow indifference’ series forum, the “CGD lab”,will work through open research, discussion and exchange, make the discussion of urban village transformation theories, experiment and practice throughout the whole biennale progress.And have planned several activities to deeply discuss topics beneath the “city ,grow in difference”theme.

0Z9A1378-22219th May ,CGD lab held the first curatorial activity

DSC0111015th July ,CGD lab held the second curatorial activity

图片510th June ,”Do \ Course” opening ceremony

Feature 7: City as the venue

岗厦改造Renovation map: :”Find the city “urban village renovation project (reference :Gangxia 1980 sponge city renovation project)

图片2Food map :Dig deeper and find out the living atmosphere of Shenzhen urban village(reference: Beijing design week)

本届深双策展理念简介

深港双城双年展(UABB) 是全球唯一一个以“城市\ 建筑”为固定主题,以关注城市和城市化为使命的双年展。由深圳与香港这两个边界相连、互动密切的城市协作举办,立足其所在的珠三角地区急剧城市化的地域特点,关注全球普遍存在的城市问题,用当代视觉文化的呈现方式,与社会公众广泛交流互动,具备国际性、先锋性、公益性。

深双不仅是展览现场,也同时身处二十和二十一世纪最剧烈城市化的现场。从深圳到珠三角,城市本身才是最大的展场,而深双则是游牧式的展览和实质性的城市介入的结合。城中村作为当代城市的另类存在处于城市中的“未完成”状态:持续演进、自我繁殖、自我更新。这里既是深圳城市化向内深耕的最新前沿,也是触及城市平衡发展的最后底线。在“城市共生”的主题之下,本届深双是寻找新的理论、新的实验和新的实践模式的平台,是注重“发现”而非预先设定的交流空间,是一个不断生长的双年展。双年展还是一次自发的自下而上的“自我组织”,和“自上而下”的统一策划的共生,借以形成对双年展自身机制的批判,体现对不同的认同。展览不是解决方案,不是一个大团圆结局的制作,而是一个起点、转折和探险。

本届深双总策展人

总策展人

总策展人:孟岩、侯瀚如、刘晓都 (从左到右按照片位置排序)

孟岩

URBANUS都市实践建筑设计事务所创建合伙人、主持建筑师。自1999年以来,专注于中国当代城市语境下的建筑实践及都市研究,建成作品包括罗湖美术馆、大芬美术馆、土楼公舍、华.美术馆、华侨城创意文化园、美伦酒店公寓,南方科技大学图书馆,雅昌艺术中心、中广核总部大厦,深业上城LOFT等,其中多个作品获得国际奖项并参展。都市实践于2006年首次出版深圳城中村的研究专辑《村•城•城•村》,之后十余年持续针对城中村进行研究和介入实践。

孟岩是2010上海世博会深圳馆总策展人,参与策展的项目还包括2010 大芬国际壁画邀请展、2010 对流•大芬国际当代艺术展、2011 OCT国际壁画展和2014年第14届威尼斯建筑双年展-中国馆等。

孟岩毕业于清华大学和迈阿密大学,是美国纽约州注册建筑师。现为纽约州雪城大学建筑学院客座教授。曾任香港大学建筑学院客座教授、深圳香港城市建筑双城双年展学术委员会委员。

侯瀚如

策展人、评论家。1990年移居法国巴黎,现工作及生活于罗马、巴黎和旧金山。2006年至2012年,他在旧金山艺术学院(SFAI)担任展览和公共项目总监以及展览和博物馆研究系主任。现任意大利罗马国力二十一世纪艺术博物馆和国立建筑博物馆(MAXXI)艺术总监。在过去二十年中,侯瀚如在全世界范围内策划了上百个展览,包括“中国现代艺术展”(北京 1989),“运动中的城市”(1997-2000),上海双年展(2000),光州双年展(2002),威尼斯双年展(法国馆 1999、紧急地带 2003、中国馆 2007),“白夜”(巴黎 2004),第二届广州三年展(2005),第十届伊斯坦布尔双年展(2007),“如果你住在这里”—第五届奥克兰三年展(2013)等。侯瀚如是众多国际文化机构的顾问,包括纽约古根海姆博物馆,时代美术馆,外滩美术馆,德意志银行艺术收藏,卡蒂斯特艺术基金会等等。

刘晓都

URBANUS都市实践建筑设计事务所创建合伙人、主持设计师。自1998年开始在深圳从事城市与建筑相关的设计工作,积累了丰富经验及获得了若干设计奖项。他同时主持及参与都市实践多项城市研究项目,其中包括城中村系列研究和高密度城市形态研究。

刘晓都曾任多届深圳香港城市建筑双城双年展学术委员会委员,现任深圳市设计之都推广促进会首届会长。刘晓都曾参与多项国内外建筑展览和学术活动,包括2005圣保罗建筑双年展,2007里斯本建筑三年展,2008荷兰鹿特丹展览和纽约库伯休伊国家设计博物馆土楼特别展等。主要策划的展览包括2016伦敦设计双年展中国馆等。

刘晓都毕业于清华大学和美国迈阿密大学。曾任教于清华大学建筑学院, 也在香港大学、威尼斯建筑大学、深圳大学\等教授建筑设计。

本届深双特色

特色1. 话事未来城市策略
20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.02

特色2. 无缝对接城中村改造
展览本身是南头更新计划的起点,以双年展为启动的首期改造,提高公共空间的质量,为南头古城留下丰厚深双遗产。

图片6

特色3. 进村互动,坐诊南头

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_04-1城中村户型改造“梦想家,改造家”活动(参考图:北京设计周)

特色4. 进村互动,群艺展示
全民参与的城中村拍摄计划,专业剧组草根演员。王小帅,耿军,李一凡等六位知名导演进村与村民拍摄互动。城中村影像展映,用贴近日常的展览事件走入村民的生活。

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_05

特色5. 首次公开征集
双年展史上首次公开征集,已收到近百位参展申请方案,约四分之一的申请方案入选。本届深双公开征集吸引了全球各地建筑城市设计研究团队、国内外院校及学生团队、独立建筑师、学者、摄影师、插画师、艺术家、赖于城中村生存工作的独立艺术家等。

20170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_0620170711_Committee Presentation_UPRD整合3.0_页面_07

特色6. 开放的策展过程
2017UABB城市共生策展人系列论坛“共生实验室”,通过开放式的调研、讨论和交流,将策展策划,城市更新改造的理论方法、实验与实践的探讨纳入双年展的过程,拟通过一系列的活动来深入地探讨2017年深双“城市共生”主题之下的诸多命题。

0Z9A1378-2225月19日共生实验室”第一次策展系列活动

DSC011107月15日共生实验室”第一次策展系列活动

图片56月10日做课开学典礼

特色7. 城市即展场

岗厦改造
改造地图:发现全城城中村爆改项目(参考图:岗厦1980海绵城市改造项目)

图片2美食地图:深入挖掘深圳城中村生活的烟火气(参考图:北京设计周)